Header Search Wrapper

Close Search

Fixed Header Container

An Independent Christian Day School | Atlanta, GA

Header Main Wrapper

An Independent Christian Day School | Atlanta, GA
Mobile Menu

71 Seniors Honored by National Merit Scholarship Program

The National Merit Scholarship Program recently honored 71 members of the Class of 2022.

The students are among the 50,000 highest-scoring students nationwide on the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year.

Nineteen seniors were selected as semifinalists for the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Competition:

  • Mary Claire Anderson
  • Harris Barth
  • Diane Chen
  • Dean Cureton
  • Rachel Doman
  • Luca Fleury
  • Matias Hernandez Arellano
  • Christopher Huang
  • Himani Kalra
  • Sara Kapasi
  • Thej Khanna
  • Tobias Liu
  • Patrick Nagy
  • Khushi Niyyar
  • Reyn Owen
  • Khushi Sharma
  • Avi Singh
  • Mira Srinivasa
  • Hunter Wanamaker

These seniors are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, which represents less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. The semifinalists are competing for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $32 million. Those scholarships will be announced in the spring of 2022.

To be considered for a Merit Scholar award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level, including academic records, community participation, leadership abilities, and honors received. The semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record, be recommended by a school official, write an essay, and achieve SAT scores that validate the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level. The approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarship winners will be chosen from that group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

In addition, 52 seniors received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise:

  • Nishka Bahl
  • Charlotte Baugher
  • Charlie Bollwerk
  • Luke Carbonara
  • Noah Chen
  • Carlyle Cornell
  • Beatriz de Aristegui
  • Sarina Desai
  • Eula Doele
  • Lauren Fernando
  • Ella Freeman
  • Colin Gibney
  • Reilly Goldstrom
  • Spencer Gosden
  • Hap Griggs
  • Ann Wright Guerry
  • Nithya Guthikonda
  • Jack Herakovich
  • Victor Hesu
  • Justice Jacquot
  • Walt James
  • Kappi Jernigan
  • Clara Johnson
  • Katherine Johnson
  • Rajan Kadaba
  • Neal Kincheloe
  • Norah Lascar
  • Alex Latz
  • Alex Lee
  • William Love
  • William Maxwell
  • Emma Morrison
  • Sophie Oberle
  • Neil Poddar
  • Jack Ramsey
  • Austin Reiner
  • Lucas Rosenberg
  • Benjamin Sayers
  • Kristina Schaufele
  • Ishan Sheth
  • Stephen Shin
  • Cate Stevens
  • Andrew Thompson
  • Peyton Townsend
  • Nik Vijayvergiya
  • Ashley Vincent
  • Ella Wallace
  • Finn Walsh
  • Luke Westenfelder
  • Jackson Wilkie
  • Hayes Wilkiemeyer
  • Kensington Zwerner

Semifinalists and commended students nationwide were selected from about 1.5 million high school students who took the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year.


Social Media Hub