Header Search Wrapper

Close Search

Fixed Header Container

An Independent Christian Day School | Atlanta, GA

Header Main Wrapper

An Independent Christian Day School | Atlanta, GA
Mobile Menu

National Merit Scholarship Program Honors 55 Seniors

National Merit Scholarship Program Honors 55 Seniors

The National Merit Scholarship Program recently honored 55 members of the Class of 2019.

The students are among the 50,000 highest-scoring students nationwide on the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year.

Twenty-one seniors were selected as semifinalists for the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Competition:

  • Sreya Atmuri
  • Caroline Bassett
  • Adelaide Burrows
  • Gehna Chaubal
  • Daniel DeSouza
  • Vincent Fang
  • Katherine Hennessy
  • Christina Huang
  • Rishab Jayanthi
  • Paxton Klein
  • Jessica Lao
  • Katherine Li
  • Hampton Maxim
  • Elizabeth Normark
  • William Pinkston
  • Isabella Pu
  • Christopher Rascoe
  • Grady Thomas
  • Anna Thompson
  • Naima Turbes
  • Luke Zhuo
Westminster National Merit semifinalists seniors

Fifteen of the 21 seniors who are National Merit semifinalists.

These seniors are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, which represents less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. The semifinalists are competing for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $32 million. Those scholarships will be announced in the spring of 2019.

To be considered for a Merit Scholar award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level, including academic records, community participation, leadership abilities, and honors received. The semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record, be recommended by a school official, write an essay, and achieve SAT scores that validate the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level. The approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarship winners will be chosen from that group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

Thirty-four seniors received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise:

  • Ishta Bahl 
  • Eva Batelaan
  • Anna Campbell
  • Caroline Clark
  • Lauren Davidson
  • Isabel Evans
  • William Foshee
  • Alexander Greene
  • Peter Huff
  • Michael Johnson
  • Derek Johnston
  • Haig Kazazian
  • Reece Kimball
  • Jackson Kottke
  • Ye Ju Lee 
  • Alejandro Lim
  • William Long
  • Christina Luo
  • Neeya Patel
  • Tara Pillai
  • Eva Pound
  • Christopher Riemann
  • Mikaela Sanders
  • Steven Shores
  • Stephen Skrynecki
  • Mira Subramaniam
  • Caroline Taylor
  • Declan Thanner
  • Dylan Vroon
  • Ziche Wang
  • Junta Yasuda
  • Raymond Zhao
  • Nathan Zhu
  • Elizabeth Zona

Semifinalists and commended students nationwide were selected from about 1.6 million high school students who took the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year.

Social Media Hub